Books by Fennel Hudson

Fennel Hudson is a rural lifestyle and countryside author. Much of his writing centres on what he calls 'The Quiet Fields' – the quiet corners of the landscape where time moves slowly, nature exists undisturbed, and where we can escape from the fast pace and pressures of modern life.

You can purchase signed copies of Fennel's books at this website. Please contact us if you require him to write a specific inscription into your book order.

Fennel's Journal Series

Fennel's Journal - the complete series

14 books to read and collect that document Fennel's quest for a simple rural life. From the hilarious to the sublime, it’s about life in the slow lane – savouring the freedom and adventure to be found outdoors.

Explore Fennel's Journal

Fennel Hudson Bibliography

Fennel Hudson has been writing and publishing for more than 30 years. Here is a complete list of his books and contributions to other titles: 


  • The Pursuit of Life. 2019. Pending publication. Information here.
  • Book of Secrets. 2017. Purchase here.
  • Beside a Carp Water. 2017. Chapter in Jon Edy-Berry's book. Published by the Medlar Press.
  • Nature Escape. 2016. Pending publication. Information here.
  • Friendship. 2015. Purchase here.
  • The Lighter Side. 2014. Purchase here.
  • A Gardener's Year. 2013. Purchase here.
  • Fine Things. 2012. Purchase here.
  • The Quiet Fields. 2011. Purchase here.
  • Traditional Angling. 2010. Purchase here.


  • Fly Fishing. 2009. Purchase here.
  • Wild Carp. 2009. Purchase here.
  • A Writer's Year. 2008. Purchase here.
  • A Waterside Year. 2007. Purchase here.
  • A Meaningful Life. 2006. Purchase here.
  • Nature Within You. 2005. Limited Edition. Out of print.
  • From the Hut. 2004-2007. Notes from a riverside salmon hut. Out of print.


  • The Friends. 1998-99. Rotary letter. Out of print.
  • Jade Lake Diaries. 1998. Limited Edition. Out of print.
  • Redmire Pool Reflections. 1997. Limited Edition. Out of print.
  • A Quest to Beechmere. Trilogy. 1996-98. Limited Edition. Out of print. View sample chapter.
  • River Severn and Teme Diaries. 1995. Limited Edition. Out of print.
  • A Summer on the Hampshire Avon. 1994. Limited Edition. Out of print.
  • The Cottage Pool. 1993. Limited Edition. Out of print.
  • Along the Green Lanes. 1992. Limited Edition. Out of print.
  • Fly Fishing the Mountain Lakes of Wales. 1991. Limited Edition. Out of print.
  • We Garden, We Grow. 1990. Limited Edition. Out of print.


  • A Simple Utopia – Collected Nature Poems. 1989. Limited Edition. Out of print.
  • Child of Nature – A Young Person's View of the Countryside. 1989. Limited Edition. Out of print.
  • Castle Quest: Escape From Kraznir Castle. 1987. Limited Edition. Out of print.

Alliance of Independent Authors /

Fennel Hudson is an Author Member of The Alliance of Independent Authors.

If you like the work of lifestyle and countryside author Fennel Hudson, then please subscribe to Fennel on Friday. You'll receive a blog, video or podcast sent direct to your email inbox in time for the weekend.